Tour Stop #3 Kalamazoo, MI – Race for the Cure

Kazoo RC7

Sunday, May 19th, 2013  This was an amazing stop along the journey. To be back in the homeland with family and friends was so comforting. The opposite of the Twin Cities, HOT, 86 degrees and humid, but we still had a great time. Rob, Ally and I started our day at the local CBS affiliate WWMT being interviewed live on their Sunday morning broadcast. The wonderful reporter that we spoke with Jessica had also recently lost her mother to breast cancer after being a 20 year survivor, she would later tell me that she was sure that it was her mom and Martha that had put us together that morning. We walked with lifelong friends the Hills, my brother Jim and Martha’s sisters Jean and Carol and their families. Martha’s mom and dad along with a wonderful niece cheered us on along the route. I was also asked by the Komen director for the event to come on stage and speak to the survivors and their families. It was not easy, but I am so glad I had the opportunity to tell them that my journey is their journey, and that every step I take is in their honor. The last piece to this amazing weekend was at the airport in Minneapolis. We had just landed back home and I was waiting for Ally and Rob to collect their carry on’s, when a nice man approached me and gave an unsolicited donation to my effort after having seen us on the news and hearing of our story. I am only at the beginning of this journey and I am already amazed at the simple acts of kindness. Martha is with me, and I feel it every day. Well now comes the big stuff, more long training walks and then San Francisco!!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment